top of page
Search
  • amymajed

My Time at Converge.

Updated: Apr 26, 2021

Fun, Impactful and Energising are the three words I would use to describe my experience at Converge, the cracking atmosphere of enthusiasm buzzed though the air, compelling everyone to be fully immersed within the present moment.



My time at converge was so inspiring and impactful, it really helped my grow, not only as an individual but within my practice as well. The experience on the course Art: Mixed Media really opened my eyes, I now understand the true nature of art as healing mechanism. The true joy of making art for the process, to not worrying about the outcome and to fully immerse yourself in the present moment of making can be magical. I know from my personal experience the benefits of the mindful task of painting, drawing, printmaking and even sculpting really engages your creativity. It made me feel more confident within my making as I gained new perspectives to view my practice, as I realised it is not always about the end result, but about the time spent enjoying making.

​

Artwork

The work we created all were made in an two hour session, this limited how attached we got to our artwork and in my opinion it forced us to maintain present-ness and be constantly make new works. This created a fun environment as everyone relaxed more as there was no pressure to create an finished and executed piece.


Some of the techniques we used were, painting, print making, brusho, string painting, collage, drawing, ink, and paint pouring. This gave us all a new technique every week, learning a new skill which therefore, boosted the confidence of everyone in the room.


Working along side the students and helping them create work, really gave me a new perspective into Art Therapy and into teaching. The rewarding feeling I received when I helped out another students, or when I shared some experience about my practice really made me feel empowered.


I really want to thank York St John University for running such an amazing course that is accessible and fun!




55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page